Skip to main content

Holmes Award Nominees Announced; Register Now for Luncheon

Lisa Lockman, Kristie Law

(Feb. 24, 2016) — Twenty-three women at the University of Kentucky have been nominated for the 2016 Sarah Bennett Holmes Award, and registration is underway now to attend the award ceremony and luncheon 11:30 a.m. Thursday, March 10, at the Hilary J. Boone Center. Visit for more information. The registration deadline is Monday, Feb. 29. Due to the change of venue and the limited space, registrations will be taken on a first come, first served basis.

Coordinated by UK Women's Forum, the Sarah Bennett Holmes Award is granted annually to women working at UK who promote the growth and well-being of other women at the university and across the Commonwealth. Two awards are presented — one to a faculty member and one to a staff member.

The 2016 nominees are:


· Elizabeth Arnold, College of Fine Arts, Vocal Music

· Kristin Ashford, College of Nursing

· Christia Brown, College of Arts and Sciences, Psychology

· Patricia Cook-Craig, College of Social Work

· Renee Fatemi, College of Arts and Sciences, Physics and Astronomy

· Lindsey Fay, College of Design, School of Interiors

· Diane Follingstad, Center for Research on Violence Against Women

· Jenna Goldsmith, College of Arts and Sciences, English

· Laura Meints, College of Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology

· Jonell Pedescleaux, College of Education, Kinesiology and Health Promotion

· Rebekah Radtke, College of Design, School of Interiors

· Susan Smyth, Gill Heart Institute

· Anita Superson, College of Arts and Sciences, Philosophy

· Margaret Szabunio, Department of Radiology, Division of Women’s Radiology

· Robin Vanderpool, College of Public Health, Department of Health Behavior


· Jane Andrus, College of Fine Arts, School of Art and Visual Studies

· Neomia Hagan Flores, Robinson Scholars Program – Undergraduate Education

· Nancy Jennings, College of Nursing, UK’s Polk Dalton Clinic

· Tracy Macaulay, College of Pharmacy

· Shonta Phelps, Gatton College of Business and Economics

· Ashley Rouster, Violence Intervention and Prevention Center

· Nicole Waite, Nurse Recruitment

· Marianne Young, Gatton College of Business and Economics

The Sarah Bennett Holmes Award was established by UK Women's Forum in 1994 and honors a distinguished former dean of women at UK. Holmes, who was widowed at a young age, raised four children while completing her own education. She went on to have a successful career at UK where she inspired young women to persevere in the face of hardship and pursue their career goals. Among her accomplishments, Holmes developed work programs for women during the Depression.