

### Welcome & Opening Remarks

Jeff Rice, WRD Chair

# <u>Campus and Community Excellence in</u> <u>Writing Awards</u>

**Presented by Jeff Rice** 

Tom Eblen, Columnist for Lexington Herald-Leader

Peter Brackney, Author of Lost Lexington

Dr. Shannon Elizabeth Bell, Assistant Professor of Sociology

Dr. Tyron Borders, Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky Endowed Chair in Rural Health Policy and Professor

#### Kelly Feinberg Memorial Essay Contest

Presented by Deborah Kirkman

First-place: Lizzy Southard for Tell Me If This Makes Sense

#### WRD Outstanding Teaching

Presented by Deborah Kirkman

**Outstanding Instructor: Beth Connors Manke** 

Jean G. Pival Outstanding Writing Teaching Assistant: Allison

**Palumbo** 

#### Robert E. Hemenway Writing Center Excellence in Consulting Award

**Presented by Judy Prats** 

Nathan Allison Kait Lee

Eleanor Feltner Victoria Sullivan

Margaret Frymire Tracey Vail

#### Composition & Communication

Remarks and Awards Presented by Jenny Rice & WRD Instructors (Steve Alvarez, Catherine Brereton, Beth Connors Manke, Catherine Gooch, Ashleigh Hardin, Tom Marksbury, Jeff Rice, Anna Stone & Katie Waddell)

#### Award-Winning Essays

First-place: Melville Hall for Warring with Evil

**Second-place:** Natalie Watkins for *The Second Coming* 

**Honorable Mention: Megan Marcum for** *The Force* 

Honorable Mention: Connor Robbs for *The Fight for \$15 Escalates*Honorable Mention: Darianne Young for *Unity beyond Colored Lines* 

#### Award-Winning Digital Projects

Tied for First-place: Zachary Smith for Genshi Bakudan

Tied for First-Place: Nitalia Harris, Mitchell Jaben, Anjana Mandal,

Benjamin Wood for The Administrative Building

Tied for Second-place: Anna Woosley for *The Road to Religious* 

Acceptance

Tied for Second-place: Elizabeth Dade, Emily Holland, Nathan Sheehan, John Tompkins, Andrew Wylie for *Prison's Purpose* 

Honorable Mention: Madeline Hill for Feminism at UK
Honorable Mention: Jillian Marks for Music and Anxiety

Honorable Mention: Kendra Sanders for Dr. Paul and the Deeper

Meaning in Life



# Department of Writing, Rhetoric, & Digital Studies

Jeff Rice Chair

Deborah Kirkman Associate Department Director

Jennifer H. Rice Director of Composition

Jim Ridolfo New Director of Composition

Brian McNely Director of Undergraduate Studies

Judith Prats Writing Center Director
Jason Carr Department Manager

Ashleigh Hardin WPA Intern
Mary Clai Jones Mentor
Megan Pillow Davis Mentor

Hannah Ruehl Mentor/ Office Assistant

Katie Waddell Mentor

Alex Menrisky Office Assistant
Collin Skeen Office Assistant
Kadie Whaley Office Assistant

#### **Special Thanks To**

Dr. Jean G. Pival, Associate Professor Emerita of English, for her endowment of the WRD Outstanding Writing TA Award

Amelia & Thomas Crutcher, Foundational Contributors for the Feinberg Writing Contest

Thanks to the HIVE for taking photographs of the awards luncheon.

## Welcome to

Writing, Rhetoric, & Digital Studies'
Awards Luncheon
April 13, 2015

